Modern Surrealism: Faceless Composition by Lara Jade

Image

copyright Lara Jade

After researching a bit more in depth about surrealism, I found that Lara Jade’s Faceless Composition definitely fit into my ideals of the surreal work of a modern day artist. Lara Jade is an extremely young British photographer who uses a more digitalis form of art to express surrealism. I guess I liked her work in particular because I felt as though it really stood out to me. It seems as though her message is a bit deeper than just a faceless woman, but rather I feel as though its an accurate representation of the life which consumerists live in today. The average American human being forces them self to endlessly work so that they can be richer.They come home to ‘relax’ by watching television, where they are then flooded with images of appealing objects which they cannot have unless they are rich. They desire to be richer so they can buy these objects because they believe it will bring them happiness. The cycle seems viscous, yet we live in such a way that this idea seems to be the norm. I guess I felt that this work of art definitely captures how consumed with society and worldly desires humans are wrapped up in. We can no longer associate that human with a face, all the humans are the same warped and stuck in this cycle.

One thought on “Modern Surrealism: Faceless Composition by Lara Jade

Leave a comment